The best touchless bathroom faucets
The idea is simple. The details — batteries, adapters, what happens when the power runs out — are where these faucets differ.
By Sawyer V. · · How we research

The short answer
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — here is exactly how that works.
Quick picks
Tap any row for the full write-up. Prices are checked against Amazon rather than remembered — where we have no verified figure the button says so.
Check it is current before you buy
This is the most important thing we learned researching this page. Two of the Delta touchless bathroom faucets we started with — the Addison 592T-DST and the Compel 561T-DST — are listed as discontinued on Delta’s own site.
Electronic faucets are replaced faster than manual ones, and a discontinued model is a problem later: replacement sensors, solenoids and battery packs become harder to find. Before you buy, check the maker’s own page lists the model as current.
Batteries or adapter
Every touchless faucet needs power, and there are two routes.
Batteries are the default. Delta publishes about a year on AA or three on C at 20 minutes a day; Moen’s support material states about a year on six AAs. The pack lives under the basin, and changing it means kneeling in the vanity once a year.
An AC adapter removes the battery changes but needs an outlet inside the vanity. Moen specifies a constant-power GFCI outlet. Very few vanities have one, and adding it is an electrical job.
What happens when the power runs out
This is the question to ask before buying, and it separates the two picks.
Delta publishes that the Lahara can be operated “manually using the handle”. A flat battery means you lose the hands-free feature, not the faucet.
Moen does not state on the product page whether the Cia runs manually without power. If you want the certainty, ask before you buy.
Where touchless genuinely earns its keep
Children. Small hands that cannot manage a lever, and a faucet that turns itself off when they wander away.
Limited grip or dexterity. No handle to operate at all.
Hygiene. Not touching the tap with dirty hands, and not re-touching it with clean ones. Pair it with a touchless soap dispenser and the whole sequence is hands-free.
Water left running. Delta’s two-minute auto shut-off handles it.
Installation is still plumbing
Every faucet here rates Owner-only on our install rating. It is a faucet swap — supplies off, lines disconnected, drain replaced — plus a battery pack or adapter to mount under the basin.
Fit is the same as any faucet: count the holes in the basin first. Delta publishes 1 or 3-hole 4 in. installation with a 6-1/2 in. deck plate; Moen publishes single hole or three hole with its deckplate. Hole count and fit are explained on the main faucet page.
If you rent, none of this is yours to change. For a hands-free bathroom without touching the plumbing, a sensor soap pump is the renter-safe half of the job.
Every pick in full
2 we would buy, and one we would not. Each carries its Renter-Safe Install Rating, the published specs behind it, and the honest gap in what we know.

1. Best overall
Lahara Touch2O Bathroom Faucet with Touchless Technology
Delta · 538T-DST · best for hands-free without giving up the handle
Three ways to run it, published battery life, a two-minute shut-off, a metal drain and a five-year electronics warranty.
The Delta Lahara Touch2O wins because Delta publishes the operating details that decide whether you will like living with it.
It runs three ways: hands-free when you put your hands near it, with a touch anywhere on the spout or handle, or with the handle as normal. That last one matters — a touchless faucet that still works as an ordinary faucet is one that never leaves you stuck.
Delta publishes battery life properly: “approximately 1 year if using AA batteries or 3 years if using C batteries, based on 20 minutes of usage per day”, with an optional AC adapter. It also publishes “Automatic water flow shut-off after two minutes”, which covers the tap left running.
Flow is “1.2 gpm @ 60 psi”, WaterSense labeled, with a metal push pop-up drain included. The warranty splits sensibly: lifetime on non-electronic parts and finishes, five years on electronics.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- Not published
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None — batteries, or an optional AC adapter
- Reversible on move-out
- No
Why: A faucet swap is plumbing on the property's supplies, and a touchless one adds a battery pack or adapter under the basin. No holes, but not a tenant's change.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Delta — Lahara 538T-DST, published flow, battery life, auto shut-off, drain and warranty. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
It was out of stock on Delta's own site at the time of writing, though it is a current model.
What we can’t tell you
Delta publishes no sensing range for this model and no battery life figure for heavier daily use than 20 minutes.
Published specifications
| Flow rate | “1.2 gpm @ 60 psi, 4.5 L/min @ 414 kPa” |
|---|---|
| Operation | Hands-free near the faucet, a touch anywhere on the spout or handle, or the handle as normal |
| Power | AA or C batteries — “approximately 1 year if using AA batteries or 3 years if using C batteries, based on 20 minutes of usage per day” |
| AC adapter | Optional EP102157, sold separately |
| Auto shut-off | “Automatic water flow shut-off after two minutes” |
| Installation | “Fits 1 or 3-hole 4-inch installations (with included 6-1/2 inch deck plate)” |
| Overall height | 9-9/32 in. |
| Valve | Ceramic disc |
| Drain | “Metal push pop-up drain assembly in matching finish (included) is ADA compliant” |
| Finishes | Chrome, champagne bronze, stainless and Venetian bronze |
| Certification | WaterSense labeled, ADA compliant, NSF/ANSI Standard 61 |
| Warranty | “Lifetime Limited Warranty on non-electronic parts and finishes and 5-Year Limited Warranty on electronic parts” |
| Availability | A current model, out of stock on DeltaFaucet.com at the time of writing |
Source: Delta — Lahara 538T-DST, published flow, battery life, auto shut-off, drain and warranty
#ad Price $228.99 as of October 18, 2026. Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

2. Best finish range
Cia MotionSense Wave Touchless Bathroom Faucet
Moen · 6221EW · best for matching a faucet to existing fittings
A single-sensor MotionSense Wave faucet in four finishes, with a metal drain and a five-year electronics warranty.
The Moen Cia MotionSense Wave is the pick when appearance leads.
Moen publishes a “single sensor on the faucet base”, WaterSense and ADA compliance, a 5.50 in. spout reach and a metal spring-loaded pop-up drain, in chrome, matte black, brushed nickel and brushed gold.
The warranty is published as “5 year warranty on digital components; limited lifetime trim warranty” — the same split as Delta, which is the honest shape for a product with electronics.
Moen’s MotionSense support material states six AA batteries last approximately a year, and the optional AC adapter needs a constant-power GFCI outlet — which most vanities do not have inside them.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- Not published
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None — batteries, or an optional AC adapter on a GFCI outlet
- Reversible on move-out
- No
Why: Plumbing on the property's supplies with electronics under the basin. The AC adapter, if you use it, also needs a GFCI outlet in the vanity.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Moen — Cia MotionSense Wave 6221EW, published sensor, reach, drain, finishes and warranty. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
Moen publishes no flow rate on the product page, and it was sold out in every finish at the time of writing.
What we can’t tell you
Flow rate, and whether the faucet can be run manually when the batteries are flat.
Published specifications
| Sensor | “single sensor on the faucet base” |
|---|---|
| Water efficiency | “meets EPA WaterSense® criteria to conserve water” |
| Accessibility | “complies with Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) specifications” |
| Installation | Single hole, or three hole with the included deckplate |
| Spout reach | 5.50 in. |
| Drain | Metal spring-loaded pop-up |
| Connections | Flexible 3/8 in. compression |
| Finishes | Chrome, matte black, brushed nickel and brushed gold |
| Power | Moen's MotionSense support material states six AA batteries last approximately one year; an optional AC adapter needs a constant-power GFCI outlet |
| Warranty | “5 year warranty on digital components; limited lifetime trim warranty” |
| Flow rate | Not published on the product page |
| Availability | Sold out in every finish on Moen's store at the time of writing |
Source: Moen — Cia MotionSense Wave 6221EW, published sensor, reach, drain, finishes and warranty
#ad Price $314.99 as of October 18, 2026. Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

The one to skip
Conway One-Handle High Arc Bathroom Faucet
Moen · WS84923 · best for anyone who does not actually want electronics under the sink
A good manual faucet — and if hygiene is the reason you are here, a handle you still touch does not solve it.
The skip is a reality check rather than a criticism.
The Moen Conway WS84923 is a well-specified conventional faucet: WaterSense and ADA compliant, a 4 in. centerset design, a 5.13 in. spout reach and a limited lifetime warranty. We cover it on the main faucet page.
It is here because plenty of people shopping for touchless are really shopping for less maintenance, and a touchless faucet is the opposite of that: batteries to change, a sensor to keep clean, electronics with a five-year warranty where a manual faucet has a lifetime one.
If the goal is simply a better faucet, buy a better manual faucet. Buy touchless when hands-free genuinely matters — small children, a household member with limited grip, or real hygiene concerns.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- Not published
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None
- Reversible on move-out
- No
Why: Replacing a faucet means shutting off the supplies, disconnecting and reconnecting both feeds and the drain. No holes are made, but the plumbing belongs to the property and this is not a tenant's change to make.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Moen — Conway WS84923, published WaterSense and ADA compliance, centerset design, spout reach, drain and warranty. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
No sensor at all, and a plastic drain assembly.
What we can’t tell you
Moen publishes no flow rate for this model either.
Published specifications
| Water efficiency | “meets EPA WaterSense® criteria to conserve water without sacrificing performance” |
|---|---|
| Accessibility | “complies with Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) specifications” |
| Installation | “4” centerset design allows for easy installation”; “One Or Three Hole” |
| Spout reach | 5.13 in. |
| Finishes | Chrome and Spot Resist Brushed Nickel |
| Drain | Plastic assembly with a lift rod |
| Warranty | “limited lifetime warranty” |
| Flow rate | Not published on the product page |
| Spout height | Not published on the product page |
There is no buy button on this one. It is easy enough to find if you want it anyway — we would rather point you at something that is still on the wall in a year.
Where to buy
Everything recommended on this page, in one place. Each link is an Amazon Associates link — we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never decides a pick.
- $228.99View on Amazon
Lahara Touch2O Bathroom Faucet with Touchless Technology
Delta · 538T-DST · Renter verdict: Owner-only
- $314.99View on Amazon
Cia MotionSense Wave Touchless Bathroom Faucet
Moen · 6221EW · Renter verdict: Owner-only
#ad Prices are not shown because we only publish figures we have verified on the day. How we’re funded.
Questions people actually ask
are touchless bathroom faucets worth it
When hands-free genuinely matters — children, limited grip, hygiene — yes. If you just want a better faucet, a good manual one is simpler: no batteries, no sensor, and a lifetime warranty where touchless electronics typically carry five years.
how long do touchless faucet batteries last
Delta publishes about 1 year on AA or 3 years on C batteries for the Lahara Touch2O, based on 20 minutes of use a day. Moen's MotionSense support material states about a year on six AAs.
does a touchless faucet work without batteries
Depends on the model. Delta publishes that the Lahara can still be operated manually with the handle, so a flat battery only removes the hands-free feature. Moen does not state this on the Cia product page — ask before buying.
can i plug a touchless faucet in instead of using batteries
Both makers sell optional AC adapters, but you need an outlet inside the vanity — Moen specifies a constant-power GFCI outlet. Most vanities do not have one, and adding it is an electrical job.
Sources
Read next
Back to Fixtures & Fittings.