Bathroom upgrade ideas that take an afternoon
Every idea here is a thing you can buy today, fit without a trade, and undo on move-out day. Ranked by how much the room changes, not by how much the thing costs.
By Sawyer V. · · How we research

The short answer
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — here is exactly how that works.
Quick picks
Tap any row for the full write-up. Prices are checked against Amazon rather than remembered — where we have no verified figure the button says so.
What makes something an afternoon job
Three tests, and a job has to pass all three. It uses a connection that already exists — a shower arm, a toilet fill valve, an outlet, a lamp holder. It needs no hole in anything. And it can be undone in less time than it took to do.
Everything that passes those tests is also, not coincidentally, renter-safe. The constraint that protects a deposit is the same one that keeps a Saturday short. How we rate installability is here.
In order, by how much the room changes
| Idea | Time | Tools | What it changes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shower head | 15 minutes | One wrench | The thing you stand under every day |
| Bidet attachment | 30 minutes | Hands | Adds a function the room did not have |
| Lighted mirror | Charge it | None | How your face looks to you |
| Towel warmer bucket | Unbox | None | The two minutes after a shower |
| Reusable hooks | 5 minutes | Hands | Where everything lives |
Do them in this order
Storage last, not first. It is tempting to start by tidying, but a hook put up before you know where the new shower head sprays ends up in the wrong place. Fittings, then function, then light, then storage around whatever the room has become.
And if you are doing all of them in one go, buy the thread tape and a pack of microfiber cloths at the same time. Every one of these jobs ends with wiping something.
What an afternoon will not fix
Low water pressure. No fitting adds pressure the building does not supply. What actually helps is here.
Damp and mold. That is ventilation, and ventilation is the skip on this page for a reason. Fan against window is compared here.
A bad layout. Nothing you can thread onto an existing fitting will fix a basin in the wrong place. That is a remodel, and this site is not about remodels.
If you have an afternoon and $50
Do the shower head and the hooks, and keep the change. Those two cover the fitting you use most and the problem you complain about most, and together they are less than the cost of a takeaway for four. What everything costs, by category, is here.
Every pick in full
5 we would buy, and one we would not. Each carries its Renter-Safe Install Rating, the published specs behind it, and the honest gap in what we know.

1. Start here
Moen Engage Magnetix Handheld Shower, 1.75 GPM
Moen · 26100EP · best for the biggest daily difference per minute spent
Six sprays, a 60 in. hose, a magnetic dock and a published 1.75 gpm — one threaded joint and the shower is a different shower.
Nothing else on this list changes a daily routine as much for as little work. Moen’s Engage Magnetix 26100EP publishes “1.75 Gpm”, six functions, a “60″” hose and the “Magnetix Docking System”, and it threads onto the arm already in your wall.
Fifteen minutes, one adjustable wrench, a strip of thread tape. Keep the old head in a bag. The five-step sequence, including the two ways it goes wrong, is here.
It is also the only idea on this page that saves money afterward: the EPA publishes “more than 330 kilowatt hours” a year saved by an average family moving to WaterSense.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- One wrench
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None
- Reversible on move-out
- Fully
Why: The cradle replaces the existing head on the shower arm, one threaded joint, and nothing is fixed to a wall. The old head goes back on in a minute.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Moen, Engage Magnetix Six-Function 3.5″ Handheld Shower, 1.75 gpm (26100EP). How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What it costs to run — Water
- Flow rate
- 1.75 GPM (Moen’s published maximum)
- Shower length
- 8 minutes
- Showers
- 365 a year
1.75 GPM x 8 min x 365 = 5,110 gallons a year, against 7,300 for a 2.5 GPM head
About 2,190 gallons a year less than a full-flow head
Arithmetic on published specifications, not a measurement. Rate source: U.S. EPA WaterSense — Showerheads (2.5 gpm federal standard, 2.0 gpm WaterSense maximum).
What’s wrong with it
A 3.5 in. head is small if what you wanted was a drenching rain head.
What we can’t tell you
Moen publishes no install time, so the fifteen minutes is our estimate of the job, not theirs.
Published specifications
| Flow rate | “1.75 Gpm (6.65 L/Min) Max.” |
|---|---|
| Spray functions | Six — “Wide Coverage; Downpour; Relaxing Massage; Massage; Soothing Massage; Rinse” |
| Head diameter | “3.5″ Diameter Spray Head” |
| Hose length | “60″” |
| Docking | “Magnetix Docking System” |
| Certification | “meets EPA WaterSense® criteria to conserve water without sacrificing performance” |
| Finishes | Chrome, Matte Black, Spot Resist Brushed Nickel |
| Warranty | “limited lifetime warranty” |
| Connection size | Not published on the product page |
Source: Moen, Engage Magnetix Six-Function 3.5″ Handheld Shower, 1.75 gpm (26100EP)
#ad Price $35.13 as of October 18, 2026. Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

2. The one that adds something new
Brondell SimpleSpa Thinline Essential Bidet Attachment
Brondell · SS-150 · best for a bathroom that has everything except this
A 0.2 in. plate under the seat you already have, fed by a braided metal hose and an all-metal T-valve, with no outlet involved.
The SimpleSpa Thinline is the cheapest way to add a function to a bathroom rather than improve one. Brondell publishes a “Universal, adjustable toilet fit”, a “braided metal hose and all-metal T-Valve”, a profile of “0.2 inches” and “no plumbers or plumbing knowledge required”.
The job: turn off the tank valve, flush, unbolt the seat, drop the plate on, bolt the seat back, tee the hose into the fill line. Half an hour the first time. The full sequence is here.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- Hands only
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None
- Reversible on move-out
- Fully
Why: Brondell publishes an under-seat fit with a metal T-valve at the tank. There is no fixing into any surface, so removal is the install run backwards.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Brondell, SimpleSpa Thinline Essential Bidet Attachment (SS-150). How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
Cold water only — Brondell publishes it as an “ambient temperature wash”.
What we can’t tell you
No published install time and no published hose length.
Published specifications
| Dimensions | “15.4″(W) x 9.15″(L) x 1.6″(H)”, profile “0.2 inches” |
|---|---|
| Weight | “0.6 lbs” |
| Water | “refreshing, ambient temperature wash” — cold only, no heating |
| Nozzle | “angled nozzle”, “retractable”, with “on-demand, self-cleaning” and a “hygienic nozzle guard” |
| Hose and valve | “braided metal hose and all-metal T-Valve” |
| Power | “Powered by water pressure alone, no batteries or electricity required” |
| Fit | “Universal, adjustable toilet fit” that “installs under your existing seat” |
| Tools | Not stated; Brondell publishes “no plumbers or plumbing knowledge required” |
| Warranty | “1-year warranty provided by US-based customer service team” |
Source: Brondell, SimpleSpa Thinline Essential Bidet Attachment (SS-150)
#ad Price $31.99 as of October 18, 2026 $39.99 (20% off). Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

3. The five-minute one
Tooletries The Arnold Shower Hook
Tooletries · The Arnold · best for a shower with nowhere to put anything
A silicone-grip stainless hook rated to 4 lbs that is published as completely removable and reusable — nothing cures, so nothing has to be peeled off later.
The Arnold is the smallest idea here and the one most likely to still be in use in five years. Tooletries publishes “heavy-duty stainless steel” with “100% waterproof silicone”, a capacity of “up to 4lbs”, and that it is “completely removable and reusable”.
Read the surface list before you buy, because Tooletries publishes it honestly: it wants “flat, smooth, shiny, non-porous surfaces” and names “mosaic, subway, and kit-kat tiles” as unsuitable. A silicone grip needs an unbroken flat area, and a grout line is not one. Grip against adhesive against suction is compared here.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- Hands only
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- None
- Reversible on move-out
- Fully
Why: Tooletries publishes it as “completely removable and reusable” with a silicone grip rather than an adhesive. Nothing cures, so nothing has to be peeled off a wall later.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Tooletries, The Arnold Shower Hook, plus the published surface compatibility guide. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
4 lbs is a robe or a loofah, not a full wet towel.
What we can’t tell you
Tooletries publishes no dimensions, so how far it stands off the wall is not stated.
Published specifications
| Material | “heavy-duty stainless steel” with “100% waterproof silicone” |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | “carry up to 4lbs” |
| Reusable | “completely removable and reusable” |
| Suitable surfaces | “flat, smooth, shiny, non-porous surfaces” — Tooletries names gloss-finished tile, glass, mirrors, fiberglass, polished marble and gloss-finished metal |
| Surfaces to avoid | “textured, rough, porous, or uneven surfaces” and over grout lines; “mosaic, subway, and kit-kat tiles” are named as unsuitable |
| Guarantee | “30 Day Money Back Guarantee” (restrictions apply) |
| Dimensions | Not published |
Source: Tooletries, The Arnold Shower Hook, plus the published surface compatibility guide
#ad Price $19.99 as of October 18, 2026. Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

4. The zero-install one
VEVOR 20-Liter Towel Warmer Bucket
VEVOR · 20L with LED display and security lock · best for the hotel moment, with nothing fitted to anything
A 20-liter heated tub with a 24-hour delay start, a child lock, an overheat light and ETL and FCC certification. Unbox, plug in, done.
VEVOR’s 20 L bucket requires no install at all, which is why it belongs on an afternoon list. VEVOR publishes “ETL & FCC-certified”, a “Child Lock”, an “Auto shut-off function”, a “U-shaped overheat light (red when over 60°C/140°F)” and a “24-Hour Reservation, 30-Minute Increment” delay start.
Set the delay the night before and the towel is warm when you get up, rather than twenty minutes after you have dried off. The full bucket ranking is here.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- None
- Time to fit
- None — it plugs in
- Power
- Standard outlet
- Reversible on move-out
- Fully
Why: A floor-standing appliance on a plug. Nothing is fitted to the room at all.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. VEVOR, 20L Towel Warmer Bucket with LED display, 4 hooks and security lock. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
It warms a dry towel in a sealed tub; it does not dry a wet one.
What we can’t tell you
VEVOR publishes no rated power, so its running cost cannot be calculated.
Published specifications
| Capacity | “20L” |
|---|---|
| Timer | “3 Levels, 20/40/60 Minutes” |
| Delay start | “24-Hour Reservation, 30-Minute Increment” |
| Child lock | “Child Lock Yes” |
| Auto shut-off | “Auto shut-off function” |
| Overheat indicator | “U-shaped overheat light (red when over 60°C/140°F)” |
| Dimensions | “12.60 x 12.60 x 18.50 inches / 320 x 320 x 470 mm” |
| Weight | “9.26 lbs / 4.2 kg” |
| Certification | “ETL & FCC-certified” |
| Drainage | “Bottom Drainage Yes” |
| Rated power | Not published |
Source: VEVOR, 20L Towel Warmer Bucket with LED display, 4 hooks and security lock
#ad Price $84.46 as of October 18, 2026 $88.90 (5% off). Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.

5. The one that needs no wall and no outlet
simplehuman Sensor Mirror Round, 8 inch
simplehuman · Sensor Mirror Round · best for a bathroom with bad light and nowhere to put a fixture
100 to 800 lux at 95 CRI from a rechargeable mirror that stands on the counter and runs five weeks a charge.
simplehuman’s Sensor Mirror solves the lighting problem without touching the wiring. It publishes “100-800 Lux”, “95 CRI”, “Dual Light Settings”, a “Built-In Lithium Ion Battery” where “1 Charge Lasts 5 Weeks”, and a “5 Year” warranty.
95 CRI is the number that makes it worth the money: at that accuracy, what you see at the mirror is what other people see in daylight. Every no-wiring lighting route is here.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- None
- Tools
- None
- Time to fit
- None — it charges and stands on the counter
- Power
- None in use — rechargeable, published at five weeks per charge
- Reversible on move-out
- Fully
Why: It is a rechargeable object that stands on a countertop. Nothing is fitted to the room, and it does not even need an outlet nearby while you use it.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. simplehuman, Sensor Mirror Round product page. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
It is 8 inches across and 5x magnification — a task mirror, not the room's main mirror.
What we can’t tell you
simplehuman publishes no color temperature range, so the two light settings are described rather than specified.
Published specifications
| Magnification | 5x |
|---|---|
| Brightness | “100-800 Lux” |
| Color accuracy | “95 CRI” |
| Light | “Dual Light Settings” — “Preview your look in full sunlight or authentic candlelight”, using “surgical-grade LEDs” and “Patterned micro-reflectors” |
| Power | “Built-In Lithium Ion Battery”, “1 Charge Lasts 5 Weeks” |
| Diameter | 8 inches |
| Mirror surface | “Ultra-Clear, High-Quality Glass Backed By High-Quality Aluminum Coating” |
| Placement | Countertop — tilts back; not wall-mounted |
| Warranty | “5 Year” |
| Color temperature range | Not published |
#ad Price $197.49 as of October 18, 2026 $210.00 (6% off). Prices change; Amazon’s listing is the one that counts. How we’re funded.
The one to skip
WhisperCeiling DC Ventilation Fan
Panasonic · FV-0511VQ1 · best for an owner with an electrician and a free saturday
The best fan we cover, and not an afternoon job in any house: a ceiling cut, a duct run and a branch circuit.
A new extractor fan appears on every bathroom ideas list and it does not belong on this one. Panasonic publishes a “Pick-A-Flow” selector at “50, 80, 110 CFM”, below 0.3 sones at the lower speeds and a draw of “4.0 to 16.4 Watts” — genuinely excellent numbers.
It is also a 10-1/2 in. square hole in a ceiling, a duct to an exterior vent and a connection to a branch circuit. That is a trade, a day and, in a rental, a conversation you will lose. Ventilation is still the most useful thing you can fix in a damp bathroom — just not today. The renter-friendly ventilation options are here.
Renter-Safe Install Rating
- Drilling
- Required
- Tools
- Not published
- Time to fit
- Not published
- Power
- Hardwired
- Reversible on move-out
- No
Why: A ceiling-mounted fan wired into a branch circuit and connected to a duct run. It is an electrical and structural alteration, not a fitting, and it is not available to a tenant.
Read from published documentation, not from fitting one. Panasonic — WhisperCeiling DC 50-80-110 CFM, published airflow, sones, watts and dimensions. How the verdict is derived: renter-safe ratings explained.
What’s wrong with it
Owner-only, trade-only, and not reversible.
What we can’t tell you
Panasonic publishes no warranty on the product page and no install time.
Published specifications
| Airflow | “Pick-A-Flow” speed selector — “50, 80, 110 CFM” |
|---|---|
| Noise | Below 0.3 sones at 50 and 80 CFM, and 0.9 sones at 110 CFM (0.1 in. static pressure) |
| Power draw | “4.0 to 16.4 Watts” depending on speed and static pressure |
| Certification | “ENERGY STAR® Certified”, recognized as “2021 Most Efficient” |
| Duct | Dual duct adapter for 4 in. or 6 in. |
| Grille | 13 in. square |
| Mounting opening | 10-1/2 in. square |
| Weight | 11.0 lbs gross |
| Motor | DC motor with ECM and SmartFlow |
| Bracket | “Single-hinged Flex-Z-Fast® bracket” |
| Warranty | Not published on the product page |
Source: Panasonic — WhisperCeiling DC 50-80-110 CFM, published airflow, sones, watts and dimensions
There is no buy button on this one. It is easy enough to find if you want it anyway — we would rather point you at something that is still on the wall in a year.
Where to buy
Everything recommended on this page, in one place. Each link is an Amazon Associates link — we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never decides a pick.
- $35.13View on Amazon
Moen Engage Magnetix Handheld Shower, 1.75 GPM
Moen · 26100EP · Renter verdict: Safe
- $31.99View on Amazon
Brondell SimpleSpa Thinline Essential Bidet Attachment
Brondell · SS-150 · Renter verdict: Safe
- $19.99View on Amazon
Tooletries The Arnold Shower Hook
Tooletries · The Arnold · Renter verdict: Safe
- $84.46View on Amazon
VEVOR 20-Liter Towel Warmer Bucket
VEVOR · 20L with LED display and security lock · Renter verdict: Safe
- $197.49View on Amazon
simplehuman Sensor Mirror Round, 8 inch
simplehuman · Sensor Mirror Round · Renter verdict: Safe
#ad Prices are not shown because we only publish figures we have verified on the day. How we’re funded.
Questions people actually ask
what bathroom upgrades can I do in a day
A shower head swap (15 minutes, one wrench), a bidet attachment (30 minutes, hands), reusable hooks (5 minutes), a towel warmer bucket (unbox and plug in) and a rechargeable lighted mirror (charge it). All five are reversible and none makes a hole.
what is the easiest bathroom upgrade
A towel warmer bucket or a rechargeable lighted mirror — neither is fitted to anything. The cheapest meaningful one is a pair of LED vanity bulbs, which takes a minute each.
can I upgrade a rental bathroom without losing my deposit
Yes, if every change uses a connection that already exists and makes no holes. Shower heads, bidet attachments, reusable hooks, plug-in warmers and freestanding mirrors all come off in minutes.
is replacing a bathroom fan a DIY job
Not an afternoon one. A fan like Panasonic's WhisperCeiling needs a 10-1/2 in. ceiling opening, a duct run to an exterior vent and a connection to a branch circuit — a trade, a day, and not available to a tenant at all.
which bathroom upgrade should I do first
The shower head. It is the fitting you spend the most time under, it takes fifteen minutes with one wrench, and a WaterSense model saves an average family more than 330 kWh a year according to the EPA.
Sources
- Moen, Engage Magnetix Handheld Shower 1.75 gpm (26100EP) — published flow rate, spray functions, hose and docking
- Brondell, SimpleSpa Thinline Essential Bidet Attachment (SS-150) — published fit, hose and valve, profile and zero power
- Tooletries, The Arnold Shower Hook — published materials, 4 lb capacity, reusability and surface compatibility
- VEVOR, 20L Towel Warmer Bucket — published timer, delay start, child lock, overheat light and certification
- simplehuman, Sensor Mirror Round — published lux range, 95 CRI, battery life and warranty
- Panasonic — WhisperCeiling DC 50-80-110 CFM, published airflow, sones, watts and mounting opening
- U.S. EPA WaterSense — Showerheads (2,700 gallons and more than 330 kWh a year)
Read next
Back to Hardware & Storage.